Saint Louis University School of Medicine
3635 Vista Ave. @ Grand Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63110



Page 1 of 2  > >>

Category: General

It takes a measure of courage to venture down a path so few have tread before. But for J.E. “Betsy” Tuttle-Newhall, MD, forging a career as a female surgeon has been about following her own professional passions — while also pioneering new paths for those that would follow her.

Read more about Dr. Tuttle-Newhall in the St. Louis Medical News


Medical Center Education Center

Welcome to the Department of Surgery

Founded in 1837, Saint Louis University School of Medicine Department of Surgery named the pioneer physiologist and military surgeon William Beaumont as Professor of Surgery. The Department changed numerous times until 1903 when it evolved into the Saint Louis University School of Medicine at its current location on Grand Boulevard in midtown St. Louis, Missouri. Between World War I and World War II, the Department was richly defined by leadership of considerable local and national reputation.


The Department today consists of nine divisions, two sections, and eight residency programs working in various clinical locations across the Midwest.


  • Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • General Surgery
  • Trauma Surgery
  • Abdominal Transplant Surgery
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Pediatirc Surgery
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Urological Surgery
  • Emergency Medicine


  • Histocompatibility Lab (HLA)
  • Surgical Research Institute (SRI)


  • General Residency
  • Cardiothoracic Residency
  • Neurosurgery Residency
  • Pediatric Residency
  • Urologic Residency
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Surgical Critical Care
  • Vascular Surgery
  Next page: Department History