The discipline of surgery has been prominent throughout the history of medical education at Saint Louis University. Drs. William Beaumont and William Coughlin were among the original faculty. In 1950, Dr. C. Rollins Hanlon was recruited as the chairman of the Department of Surgery. During Dr. Hanlon's tenureship the department steadily grew to a complement of thirty full-time faculty members with residencies in general, cardiothoracic, neuro, plastic, and urologic surgery.

Dr. Vallee Willman was appointed chairman of the department in 1969. The faculty numbers increased to forty-five under his chairmanship. Under the direction of Dr. Willman, The Theodore S. Cooper Research Institute was created to emphasize research activities for faculty and residents.

For many years Dr. Donald Kaminski led the Division of General Surgery and served as the Program Director in Surgery. Dr. Kaminski was an outstanding educator and the recipient of numerous teaching awards from both students and residents. He had been an active NIH-funded investigator and a longtime member of the American Board of Surgery and the Resident Review Committee. His clinical interest was gastrointestinal surgery but he remained active in all aspects of the clinical field.

Dr. Frank E. Johnson offers medical students, residents, and fellows an elective involving clinical research. This provides the student an opportunity to perform computer-based research. Large datasets are used to evaluate patient outcomes, risks, and benefits of surgical or other treatment options for various disorders, or to perform cost benefit analyses. Research for publication is anticipated and the student has an opportunity to participate in writing manuscripts, if desired. For additional information, please contact Frank E. Johnson, M.D., at or at (314) 577-8316.

Dr. Eddy Hsueh leads the surgical oncology effort of the division. His laboratory is engaged in the immunobiology of melanoma and the surgical treatment of melanoma and other advanced cancers and sarcomas.


Charles H. Andrus, M.D.

Eddy C. Hsueh, M.D.
Director - Division of General Surgery

Kevin E. Behrns, M.D.
Professor and Dean of SLUSOM

Jason Keune, M.D.

Theresa L. Schwartz, M.D.
Assistant Professor

Jula Veerapong, M.D.
Assistant Professor